Keep your important files on a network drive or in OneDrive (PC)

Important! Faculty and staff are responsible for backing up the files on their campus computer. Prior to receiving a new computer, please make sure you follow the steps outlined in this article to move your files to a network drive or OneDrive.

We strongly advise against storing your important files on your computer’s hard drive. Since the items saved in your Documents, Desktop, Pictures and Music folders are not backed up by IT, you risk losing these files if your hard drive suddenly crashes.

Instead, keeping your files on a network drive or in OneDrive is a much safer solution because items saved here are automatically backed up. The summary below outlines the Pros and Cons of each storage option.

Network Drive

OneDrive

Good for:

  • Files containing High Risk and Moderate Risk information as noted in the Buffalo State Data Classification Policy
  • This includes health data, student grades, log-in credentials, credit card information, FERPA covered data, lists of students or employees along with associated ID numbers

Good for:

  • Minutes from open meetings that do not include information contained in the High or Moderate Risk categories
  • Lit reviews, articles, research files that do not contain High Risk Information (e.g., subject information, HIPAA data, FERPA data)    

Pros:

  • Files are automatically backed up
  • IT maintains backups for 30-days
  • Deleted/corrupted files may be restored from backup

 

Pros:

  • Files are automatically backed up
  • Tons of storage - 1 Terabyte (TB)
  • Easily accessible from on or off campus
  • Easy to share/collaborate with colleagues

Cons:

  • Limited storage - only 500 Megabytes (MB)
  • Not easily accessible from off campus

Cons:

  • None
Please Note: For more information please review the Data Risk Classification Policy (PDF 145 KB) and the Guidelines for Storing and Transmitting College Data (PDF 382 KB) documents. The latter document provides a practical reference for determining where to store various types of campus data.

Setup the OneDrive sync client on your PC

If you are new to OneDrive and would like to start using it, we strongly recommend following the instructions below to setup the OneDrive sync client on your PC. This will place a OneDrive folder on your computer and make it easier to manage the files you store in OneDrive.

Setup the OneDrive sync client on your PC

Save new files to a network drive or OneDrive

Use the Save As command to save a single file to a network drive or OneDrive:

1. With the file open, select Save As from the File menu. 

A. To save the file on a network drive, select Browse > This PC and locate the drive under Network locations

Save to network drive

B. To save the file in OneDrive, select OneDrive - buffalostate and locate the desired folder.

Save to OneDrive

3. Enter a name for the file in the File name box, and click Save

Move existing files or folders to your network drive or OneDrive

You can use the Copy and Paste commands to copy your files/folders from your computer to a network drive or OneDrive. Once your files/folder have been successfully copied, they can be deleted from the original (source) location.

1. Open File Explorer and navigate to the folder where the files are stored.

File Explorer

2. Select the files or folders that you want to move. To select all files and folders within a folder, click Select all on the Home tab (or press Ctrl+A).

Select All

Tip! To select a number of sequential files or folders, click the first item, press and hold down the Shift key, and then click the last item. To select a number of non-sequential  files or folders, click the first item, press and hold down the Control key while you click on the items that you want to select.

3. With the items selected, click Copy on the Home tab. 

Copy

4. Use the left navigation pane to locate the desired network drive or OneDrive folder.

Left navigation pane

5. Click Paste on the Home tab.

Paste

Please Note: Once your files/folder have been successfully copied to a network drive or OneDrive folder, we recommend deleting the files/folders from the original (source) location. This will prevent confusion of having duplicate data.
100% helpful - 2 reviews

Details

Article ID: 46899
Created
Thu 1/25/18 10:19 AM
Modified
Mon 6/15/20 11:09 PM