Skip to Knowledge Base content

Copying a Course in Blackboard

Copying a course section into an existing course will add the content to another course, but it will not overwrite the existing structure or remove the existing content. It will append what is currently there.

  1. To start the copy process, navigate to the old course with the content that you want to copy from.
  2. Under the Course Management Menu > Control Panel, expand the Packages and Utilities section
  3. Select Course Copy.

 Course Copy

On the Copy Course page:

Select Copy Type:
The option for Copy Course Materials into an Existing Course should already be selected. This will copy content from the course you are currently working in into a new course that will be selected in the next step.

Select Copy Type
 

Select Copy Options:
To select which course the content will be copied into:

  1. Destination Course ID > Click Browse. A list of courses you are assigned to as an instructor will be displayed in a new window.Destination Course ID
  2. Click the Course ID header to sort the list. You may need to go to the next page or click Show All to locate the desired course.Course ID Header
  3. Select the new course to copy into (only one course can be selected at a time). Make sure you are selecting the correct course in the new term!
  4. After selecting the course, click Submit at the top or bottom of the window.

Select Course Materials:

  1. Click Select All.
  2. Under Discussion Board, we recommend changing the option underneath to “Include only the forums, with no started posts.” This will bring over the forums but will not include any past student posts. If you use forums and as the instructor provide the starter posts (students can only reply), keep the option to “Include starter posts for each thread in each forum (anonymized).”
  3. Unselect Announcements if you do not want them copied over.
  4. Click Submit to start the copy process.

Navigate to the new course. A banner across the top will indicate the process status. The status message will change from Waiting to Running and then Complete. When it changes to Complete, click on a menu item or the browser’s refresh button to view the new content. Review the course for content, discussions, grade center, etc. to verify a successful course copy. Make any necessary adjustments to dates, wording of items, or to the setup of the course in preparation for the new semester.

The new course will automatically be enrolled with the new students for the semester by the campus Banner system.

Note: DO NOT select the option to "Include Enrollments in the Copy!"

 

Details

Article ID: 32480
Created
Fri 6/23/17 11:22 AM
Modified
Wed 8/2/17 1:51 PM

Related Articles (1)