User Roles in Blackboard Learn

Roles in Blackboard control access to course content and tools within a course or organization. Each user is assigned a role for each course or organization they participate in.

Course Roles

Instructor

Instructors have full access to the course. They can access the course regardless of availability, and can add, edit, and delete content within the course. They have full control over the Grade Center, and can add other users to the course. Instructors are able to export or copy content to another course where they have the instructor role.

Teaching Assistant

Teaching Assistants have full access to the course. They can access the course regardless of availability, and can add, edit, and delete content within the course. They have full control over the Grade Center. Teaching Assistants can add other users, but cannot remove an instructor from the course. Teaching Assistants are able to export or copy content to another course where they have the Teaching Assistant role.

Course Builder

The Course Builder role has limited access to the course. Course Builders can access the course regardless of availability and can add, edit, and delete content within the course. They do not have access to the Grade Center. Course Builders cannot add other users to the course. Course Builders are able to export their course content, or copy content to another course where they have the Course Builder role.

Grader

The Grader role has limited access to the course. A Grader would assist the instructor in the creation, management, delivery, and grading of online assessments delivered through Blackboard. Graders can only access a course when it is made available. They can view course content but cannot edit content. Graders have access to the course's Control Panel, but only to the assessments section. The grader does have access to the course Grade Center. Graders cannot manage users within the course. They cannot export or copy course content. 

Observer

The Observer role can be used for Course Design Reviews or peer-observations. Observers are not able to see courses in Blackboard until they are made available by the instructor. They are able to see content that is "available" and "unavailable" but cannot add, edit, or delete content with a content area. They have full access to the Grade Center. Observers cannot add other users to the course. They cannot export or copy course content.

Student

The Student role has limited access to the course. Students are not able to see courses in Blackboard until they are made available by the instructor. Students can submit coursework and participate in discussions. Students cannot create or grade course items.

Auditor

The Auditor role is given to students who register as an auditor for the course in Banner. Any auditor will automatically be added to the course in Blackboard. Auditors will not have access to courses within the Blackboard mobile app.

Guest

The Guest role allows prospective students, alumni, and parents to explore Blackboard Learn without making any changes to users, courses, or content. Users with the role of Guest are unauthenticated users. Any user added as a Guest will only have access for a 24 hour period.

Organization Roles

Leader

Leaders have full access to the organization. They can access the organization regardless of availability, and can add, edit, and delete content within the course. They have full control over the Grade Center, and can add other users to the organization. Leaders cannot remove other Leaders or Managers from an organization. Leaders are able to export or copy content to another organization where they have the Leader role.

Assistant

Assistants have full access to the organization. They can access the organization regardless of availability, and can add, edit, and delete content within the organization. They have full control over the Grade Center. Assistants can add and remove Participants, but cannot remove Managers or Leaders from the organization. Assistants are able to export or copy content to another organization where they have the Assistant role.

Organization Builder

The Organization Builder role has limited access to the organization. Organization Builders can access the organization regardless of availability and can add, edit, and delete content within the organization. They do not have access to the Grade Center. Organization Builders cannot add other users to the organization. Organization Builders are able to export their organization content, or copy content to another organization where they have the Organization Builder role.

Grader

The Grader role has limited access to the organization. A Grader would assist the Leader in the creation, management, delivery, and grading of online assessments delivered through Blackboard. Graders can only access an organization when it is made available. They can view organization content but cannot edit content. Graders have access to the organization's Control Panel, but only to the assessments section. The Grader does have access to the organization Grade Center. Graders cannot manage users within the organization. They cannot export or copy organization content. 

Observer

The Observer role can be used for Course Design Reviews or peer-observations. Observers are not able to see organizations in Blackboard until they are made available by the Leader. They are able to see content that is "available" and "unavailable" but cannot add, edit, or delete content with a content area. They have full access to the Grade Center. Observers cannot add other users to the organization. They cannot export or copy organization content.

Participant

The Participant role has limited access to the organization. Participants are not able to see organizations in Blackboard until they are made available by the Leader. Participants can submit coursework and participate in discussions. Participants cannot create or grade organization items.

Guest

The Guest role allows prospective students, alumni, and parents to explore Blackboard Learn without making any changes to users, courses, or content. Users with the role of Guest are unauthenticated users. Any user added as a Guest will only have access for a 24 hour period.

Details

Article ID: 94046
Created
Mon 12/9/19 9:25 AM
Modified
Mon 2/3/20 11:35 AM