Managing Users in Blackboard

 Official registration for courses should be completed in Banner, where students will automatically be enrolled into their Blackboard course. 

Add Users to Blackboard

Additional users can be added to a course or organization in Blackboard.

  1. In the Control Panel, expand the Users and Groups section and click Users.
    Users and Groups, Groups, Users
  2. On the Users page, click Find Users to Enroll.
    Under Users, Find Users to Enroll
  3. Click Browse to search for users.​​​​​​​
    Enroll Users with Browse to the right.
  4. Select the desired search criteria (by Last Name is the most common) and type the user's information.
  5. Click Go. Note: Only users that are not already enrolled in your course will be identified in a search for users. If a student has dropped the course in Banner, they will not appear in the search results and can not be manually added.
    User Search bar with options username, contains, bueller
  6. Select the desired user to add.
  7. Click Submit.
    Select User
  8. Browse again and repeat to add additional users.
  9. Select a Role and Enrollment Availability for the users.
    ​​​​​​​Enroll Users with the selected user displayed.
  10. Click Submit.

 

 If you are using a merge (MRG) or Crosslisted (XLS) course site, the additional users will need to be added to the child sections.

 

Remove Users from a Course

In a Blackboard course, you cannot delete users from a course roster, you can only make the user(s) unavailable.

  1. In the Control Panel, expand the Users and Groups section and click Users.
  2. On the Users page, access a user's contextual menu next to their username.
  3. Click Change User's Availability in Course.
  4. Set a user's availability to No.
  5. Click Submit.

Remove Users from an Organization

  1. On the Control Panel, expand the Users and Groups section and click Users.
  2. Select the individual username(s) or select all.
  3. Click Remove Users from an Organization.

Leaders cannot remove other leaders from their organization. Rather than removing a leader, you can make the user(s) unavailable.

  1. In the Control Panel, expand the Users and Groups section and click Users.
  2. On the Users page, access a user's contextual menu next to their username.
  3. Click Change User's Availability in Course.
  4. Set a user's availability to No.
  5. Click Submit.

Details

Article ID: 32495
Created
Fri 6/23/17 3:17 PM
Modified
Fri 5/1/20 10:57 AM